Latest News: Who is Appointed the captain of Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2018?

Earlier at the auctions of the IPL 2018, everyone was shocked along with Ashwin when the comeback team this year CSK decided not to retain the Star Indian Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin who was an important player for the Chennai squad before the 2 years banishment. And, now that CSK is back, they managed to retain their core players MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja but Ashwin was not retained due to his base price as stated by CSK’s think-tank Flemming. Anyways, CSK’s loss is a win for Kings XI Punjab. Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) announced on Monday that senior India off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin would be their new captain for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018.

The undisputed king of Multan and the former Indian explosive Batsman and Kings XI Punjab Mentor Virender Sehwag made this huge announcement with a live video session on the official Facebook page of the Kings XI Punjab. Punjab bought Ashwin for a striking 7.6 Crore Rupees. Kings XI Punjab named Ravichandran Ashwin as their new captain for the 11th edition of the Indian Premier League on Monday.

Ravichandran Ashwin has now become the tenth cricketer to lead the Punjab Franchise after Yuvraj Singh(2008), Kumar Sangakara(2009), Mahela Jayawardene (2010), Adam Gilchrist (2011, 2012), David Hussey (2012, 2013), George Bailey (2014, 2015), Murali Vijay (2016), David Miller (2016), Glenn Maxwell (2017) all have lead the Punjab franchise in the past.

Also Read: IPL 2018 List of Sold players with Bid prices and teams

Initially, Yuvraj Singh was the fan favorite and more than 90% fans wanted Yuvi to be the new captain of Punjab as stated by the think-tank Sehwag but he wanted a different player to be the captain of the team. In a press conference, Viru stated that the new captain is sitting beside him, then the camera turned towards the left side to reveal the new face of the Punjab franchise.

Kings XI Punjab franchise announced -” Ravichandran Ashwin has officially succeeded the throne as the new captain of Kings XI Punjab for the upcoming Indian Premier League season. He will lead the pride of Punjab into battle in the hopes of getting them to their maiden title triumph.”

Ashwin will be leading a group of disastrous players as Kings XI Punjab managed to buy some top-notch and crucial players like KL Rahul(11 Cr), Chris Gayle(2 Cr) and Yuvraj Singh(2 Cr). As soon as the auctions completed, a list of 6 players was released by Kings XI. Other than Ashwin there were Yuvraj, Axar Patel, Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch and KL Rahul on the list but finally, Ashwin will be leading the Punjab squad for the upcoming season of the IPL.

Ashwin said in Kings that “I feel honored to be trusted with the responsibility of leading such a talented bunch of cricketers. I am confident of bringing out the best out of teammates. This is indeed a proud moment for me,”

He also said, “There is no additional pressure on me as such. I first led my stateside in first-class cricket when I was 21. I have done it in the past and I am sure that I will enjoy the challenge,”

Check out the Kings XI Punjab full squad for the upcoming IPL 2018:

Kings XI Punjab Team 2018: R Ashwin (C), Yuvraj Singh , Karun Nair, KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, David Miller, Mayank Agarwal, Mujeeb Zadran, Manzoor Dar, Marcus Stoinis, Pardeep Sahu, Manoj Tiwary, Andrew Tye, Akshdeep Nath, Mohit Sharma, Barinder Sran, Ankit Rajpoot, Ben Dwarshuis, Mayank Dagar, Axar Patel.

Read in Detail About Kings XI Punjab Here

Stay tuned with for more details on the teams, bids, retained players, opening ceremony and everything about the upcoming 11th season of Indian Premier League.

Updated: February 28, 2018 — 8:06 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Indian Premier League 2019 © 2019