IPL 2019: VIVO IPL 2019 Retained Players list with Team Name

List of IPL 2019 Retained Players- IPL 2019 Auction has just finished on 27th and 28th January. Before that, the IPL franchises retained their teams player for the upcoming season of IPL. This year the IPL retention for players finished on 4th January 2019. Here is a list of Retained Players in IPL 2019 along with their teams (franchises) name. A total of 18 players are retained by eight franchises. Know about your team and check which player has been retained by your favorite teams.

The window for the franchises to retain players for the VIVO Indian Premier League 2019 season closed on January 4, 2019. The franchises were eligible to secure up to 5 players by virtue of a combination of Player Retention (Pre-Player Auction) and Right to Match (RTM) (During the Player Auction). Below is the table of the players retained by each franchise using the Player Retention option.

VIVO IPL 2019 Player Retention 

Player Retention Rules IPL 2019

The VIVO IPL 2019 marked its beginning with a set of rules to retain the existing players. Also, the homecoming of 2 Teams- Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals added fuel to the retention process. The Player Retention Rules says to have a max retention of 5 players that should be in the combination of max 3 capped Indian Players or 2 uncapped Indian Players with 2 Overseas Players.

5 Player Retentions in IPL 2019

  • Combination of max 3 retentions / 3 RTM
  • If no retention, up to 3 RTM.

Player retention

  • Capped Indian players- Max 3
  • Uncapped Indian players- Max 2
  • Overseas players- Max 2

Total Eight franchises in VIVO IPL 2019 and the total of 18 players were retained by their franchises for the Upcoming season of IPL. The list of Retained players in IPL 2019 is uploaded here with the League fees and Deduction made for the retention.

Table of Retained Players IPL 2019


League Fee


Chennai Super Kings

MS Dhoni 15 Cr 15 Cr
Suresh Raina 11 Cr 11 Cr
Ravindra Jadeja 7 Cr 7 Cr

Delhi Daredevils

Rishabh Pant 8 Cr 15 Cr
Chris Morris 7.1 Cr 11 Cr
Shreyas Iyer 7 Cr 7 Cr

Kings XI Punjab

Axar Patel 6.75 Cr 12.5 Cr

Kolkata Knight Riders

Sunil Narine 8.5 Cr 12.5 Cr
Andre Russell 7 Cr 8.5 Cr

Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma 15 Cr 15 Cr
Hardik Pandya 11 Cr 11 Cr
Jasprit Bumrah 7 Cr 7 Cr

Rajasthan Royals

Steve Smith 12 Cr 12.5 Cr

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli 17 Cr 17 Cr
AB de Villiers 11 Cr 11 Cr
Sarfaraz Khan 1.75 Cr 3 Cr

Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner 12 Cr 12.5 Cr
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 8.5 Cr 8.5 Cr


1. Chennai Super Kings

The Returning Chennai Super Kings has retained their valuable Indian Triad MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, and Jadeja. If they can find a top class seam bowler to spearhead their attack, they already look like a team capable of challenging the title. The team has not tasted victory since the devolution of the team 2 years back in the spot-fixing case. The owners and the be back players must be furious to win the title for their Team.

Super Cool Dhoni, Hitter Suresh Raina, and the all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja already form a strong backbone of CSK.

Read Here- Top 20 Lesser Known IPL Facts

2. Mumbai Indians

One of the most successful franchises in the IPL history is Mumbai Indians. Mumbai Indians retained the max number of players for VIVO IPL 2019 12th season. Retained players are Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, and Jasprit Bumrah these three are retained for 12 seasons.

Like CSK, Mumbai Indians has also shown trust in their evergreen Indian Triad. The All the time in-form Rohit is much of a blessing for the Team. Hardik Pandya, on the other hand, has made his mark both with bat and ball at times. The seam bowler Jasprit Bumbra is impeccable with his strict length. The Team has grown stronger with these retained players.

3. Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad retained the fantastic batsman and bowler David Warner and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. They both could lead the Sunrisers Hyderabad to another title in 2019. David Warner especially has been in tremendous form over the past two seasons for the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Sunrisers has played a great game by retaining these players on their side. While they have an as tremendous batsman as David Warner, Bhuvneshwar can take the game away on his own.

4. Kolkata Knight Rider

Kolkata Knight Riders retained their game-changing players for the IPL 2019.The KKR retained their two players one who is their star spin bowler Sunil Narine and Andre Russell joining him. KKR have both things a big hitter Andre Russell and a top spin bowler for the team Sunil Narine.

5. Kings XI Punjab

Kings Xi Punjab has changed their assets after a disappointing game recently that because the franchise just Retained a player Axar Patel to VIVO IPL 2019 over the last three season King XI Punjab need a team who can give an excellent performance in this season.

6. Delhi Daredevils

And this team is coming with special pairs of players Delhi Daredevil retained an experienced Chris Morris and him joining two youngsters, Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer. Delhi Daredevil focusing on youngster players coming through and Pant and Iyer especially will be expected to contribute big this season.

7. Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore have kept Virat Kohli a superstar player with 2 another tremendous player AB de Villiers and Sharfaraz Khan in VIVO IPL 2019. But Royal Challengers Bangalore have a huge fortune Virat Kohli if he is with the team, the team can beat anyone in the game and they have a chance of victory in the game.

8. Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals have retained just one player as they go in a different direction, but that player is Steve Smith, who is one of the best in the world. With Smith in the team, they have a fantastic batsman and a great captain to build around.

Know About Top Wicket Takers in IPL History

All franchises have retained their players and IPL 2019 auction has finished. Now everyone is eagerly waiting for the opening ceremony. Stay here for every update on IPL 2019 and don’t forget to vote your favorite team here and also play our daily quiz on IPL 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Indian Premier League 2019 © 2019